Code Updates

The State of Connecticut's Codes and Standards Committee and the Office of the State Building Inspector are in the process of reviewing the 2012 International Code Council's family of codes for the next State Building Code. Information about the process and the schedule is available on Department of Administrative Services / Division of Construction Services / Office of the Sate Building Inspector / Building Code Adoption web page or follow the link below. 

Building Code Adoption


The Committee is seeking comments on the 2012 International Building Code (IBC), the 2012 International Existing Building Code (IEBC), the 2012 International Plumbing Code (IPC), the 2012 International Mechanical Code (IMC), and the 2012 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC).  Comments using the "Connecticut Proposed Code Change Form" found on the web page must be submitted by December 15, 2013.  The Committee is also seeking comments on the 2012 International Residential Code (IRC) and the 2014 National Electrical Code (NFPA 70).  Comments using the "Connecticut Proposed Code Change Form" must be submitted by February 1, 2014.

It is anticipated that the next State Building Code will go into effect in 2015.

The following are links to state web pages that have information on the current state building and energy codes and the agencies/committees responsible for their changes.

Connecticut State Building Code

Connecticut Codes and Standards

Massachusetts State Building Code

Massachusetts Board of Building Regulations and Standards

 The following are links to web pages that have codes and standards information.

International Code Council (ICC)

Addenda to ASHRAE Standards

The following spreadsheeet summarizes the code requirements in 2009 IECC and Standard 90.1-2007 with the 2008 Supplement for climate zone 5A (Connecticut and Massachusetts are in 5A).  It also shows the requirements of the previous Connecticut Energy Code, the 2006 IECC. Current CT Energy Code

The following is a link to a suggested format for showing compliance with the 2009 IECC on the construction documents.  Since compliance for commercial projects must be with the 2009 IECC in its entirety or Standard 90.1-2007 in its entirety, there are four spreadsheets shown on the AIA Connecticut web page.

The following is a spreadsheet the compares the requirements of the current Connecticut energy code, 2009 IECC, to the requirements of the next Connecticut energy code.  The next energy code is proposed to be the 2012 IECC and could be adopted as soon as the second half of 2013.  The spreadsheet also show the requirements of Standard 90.1-2010 that is an alternate compliance path.
Next CT Energy Code

For those interested in how the requirements of Standard 90.1 have changed, the following spreadsheets show the progression of the requirements.
Standard 90.1-2001, -2004, -2007 Requirements

Standard 90.1-2004, -2007, -2010 Requirements














Click here for details about our sponsors and for more information about becoming a sponsor.